Press Room


Special Offers

Specials & Promotions Be The First to Know
get the latest news

special offerings

Need to know

Need to Know Legal Information
privacy policy | disclaimer

fact sheet, brochures

Video Guide
the property

Pack for a Purpose

Gayle leads Tallawahs to title

From the Jamaica Observer

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC) — Another exhibition of power hitting by captain Chris Gayle and the consistent Andre Russell guided the Jamaica Tallawahs to a commanding seven-wicket win over the Guyana Amazon Warriors that gave them the first hold of the Limacol Caribbean Premier League.

The pair smashed an unbeaten 62 from 34 balls as the Tallawahs rattled up 129 for three in 17.3 overs in reply to the warriors' 128 for five off 20 overs. Gayle finished unbeaten on 47 off 48 balls with six boundaries, while the belligerent Russell stroked 33 off 18 balls including five fours and one six.

Earlier Chadwick Walton hit a six and one boundary in nine balls before going leg before wicket to Tillakaratne Dilshan for 13 and Kumar Sangakkara lofted Christopher Barnwell for James Franklin to run in and take a catch low down when the Sri Lankan was on 13.

The only other Tallawah wicket to fall was that of Jermaine Blackwood for three. He was deceived by a slower delivery from Lasith Malinga whom he offered a tame return catch.

Sent in to bat, the Guyana Amazon Warriors were choked in the front end of their innings languishing on 46 for two after 10 overs. They lost William Perkins caught at mid off by Danza Hyatt from a David Bernard Jnr delivery for 14 and the prize wicket of Tillakaratne Dilshan who played on to a sharp in swinger from Bernard jnr without scoring.

Lendl Simmons, who started uncharacteristically slow, top scored with 40 off 44 balls with three fours and two sixes before holding out to Kumar Sangakkara trying to launch Nikita Miller over long off. Simmons featured in a 50-run partnership with Denesh Ramdin, who contributed 29 from 34 balls including two fours and one six.

The Amazon Warriors innings got a much-needed boost as James Franklin and Christopher Barnwell realised 20 runs in the final over bowled by Chris Gayle. Franklin was undefeated on 17. He faced nine balls and struck two sixes in the final over. David Bernard Jnr was the most successful bowler for the Tallawahs with two for 18 off four overs.

Chris Gayle (Jamaica Tallawahs) was named Man-of-the-Match, Krishmar Santokie, (Guyana Amazon Warriors) Man-of-the-Series and Sheldon Cotterell (Antigua Hawksbills) — future star.

Latest News
Earn  milage credit with AAdvantage